Seven Wonders of the World

The oldest and the most popular list of Seven Wonders of the World is The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. It was a kind of a touristic guide for ancient travellers who wanted to visit the most popular places. Other names for such lists are "Wonders of the Middle Ages", "Seven Wonders of the Middle Ages", "Medieval Mind" and also "Architectural Wonders of the Middle Ages".

Despite their name, it is doubtful whether the lists were originated in the Middle Ages and it is more likely to have been created after those times. One of the reasons fot such belief is that some items from the list are not technically from the Middle Ages so they couldn't have been made in those times.

The Seven Wonders of the Middle Ages, in alphabetical order, are:

  • Catacombs of Kom el Shoqafa
  • Colosseum
  • Great Wall of China
  • Hagia Sophia
  • Leaning Tower of Pisa
  • Porcelain Tower of Nanjing
  • Stonehenge

Houses for sale